The Misery Mountain Boys

The roots of the Misery Mountain Boys lie on the banks of the mighty Peace River, in small- town Northern Alberta, where guitarist Steven Gevenich and mandolinist Dom Golec grew up sharing and creating music together. Shortly after the duo moved to Edmonton in 2011, they were joined by the likes of Lindsay Bueckert on the upright bass, Sam Toms on the clarinet, and percussionist Eric Redekopp.

After rambling through bluegrass circles, western swing standards, and getting lost in the world of gypsy jazz, the Misery Mountain Boys have landed upon their own unique brand of acoustic roots music, taking their traditional instrumentation to more creative places and sometimes unexpected genres. With a strong emphasis on danceability, their music is uptempo and energetic, bred for grassy dance floors and early morning sunrise jams.

Their new full length album, ‘Moon Dog and the Familiar Spirits’ pays homage to an other-worldly adventure, set in Alberta’s Northern Boreal Forest, one summer solstice night.

David Grisman, Django Reinhardt, Pokey Lafarge, Hank Williams

Album History
Moon Dog and the Familiar Spirits - December 2016

Long Gone Cat Daddy - December 2015

Little Smoky - May 2014